The Irish Economic Association (IEA) is a national scientific body for economists in Ireland. The objective of the Association is to contribute to the development and application of economics in Ireland. It is a Company Limited by Guarantee.

Guiding Principles

There are five Guiding Principles for IEA Members:

  1. Professionalism
  2. Responsibilities in publications
  3. Responsibilities to research participants
  4. Responsibilities to employers, colleagues and funders
  5. Responsibilities to students

See here for the IEA Code of Ethics and Guiding Principles.


At present there are 16 institutional members and 2 corporate members, representing a wide range of economists working across the island of Ireland. More information on membership is accessible here.

IEA Presidents

Term President
2022- Orla Doyle
2020-2022 Anne Nolan
2018-2020 Rowena Pecchenino
2016-2018 John McHale
2014-2016 Donal O’Neill
2012-2014 Philip Lane
2010-2012 Brian Nolan
2008-2010 John FitzGerald
2006-2008 Frank Browne
2004-2006 Gerry Boyle
2002-2004 Denis Conniffe
2000-2002 Frances Ruane
1998-2000 Patrick Honohan
1996-1998 Brendan Walsh
1994-1996 Michael Cuddy
1992-1994 Noel O’Gorman
1990-1992 Peter Neary
1988-1990 Dermot Mc Aleese
1986-1988 John Spencer